Home Page
Enjoy Learning, Achieve Success.
Home Page
Enjoy Learning, Achieve Success.


We have a dedicated team of Governors at Thwaites School who play an important role in the life of our school. As a team, we bring a range of skills, experiences and interests from all walks of life. We help provide a sense of direction for the school and work closely with our Headteachers as a 'critical friend'. We are responsible for holding the school to account for the standards and quality of education it provides, as well as providing strategic leadership. 


The table below includes details of how our Governing Body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

Meet The Governors


Chair/ LEA Governor - Mr Ged McGrath


Vice-Chair - Mr David Savage


Headteacher - Mr Jordan Emms 


Co-opted Governor - Mrs Angela Nugent

Co-opted Governor - Ann McIlwraith


Co-opted Governor - Lynne Howe


Parent Governor - Mrs Emily Barrow


Parent Governor - Mrs Louise Falconer


Clerk - Mrs S Bawden

Governing Board Information - 2020