Home Page
Enjoy Learning, Achieve Success.
Home Page
Enjoy Learning, Achieve Success.

Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage

At Thwaites, we value each child as a unique individual and encourage their self-esteem, positive attitude and independence whilst ensuring they always feel safe and happy. All our staff will support your child in developing good social skills and respect for others, whilst providing them with plenty of exciting, fun and active opportunities to develop their imagination and creativity.


During their time in Nursery and Reception, your child will be learning skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating their understanding across seven areas of learning and development. The following three prime areas are essential for your child's healthy development and future learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.


As your child grows, these prime areas will help them develop their skills in the following four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


At Thwaites, we use these seven areas to monitor each child's development. We can then plan and prepare activities and experiences that are suited to your child's specific interests and needs.


Please see our updated EYFS handbook for more information about our Early Years Foundation Stage, or pop in to meet us and have a look around.